{
 "page": "https://instabids.ai/us/property-managers/landlord-tenant-law/new-jersey",
 "skillVersion": "3.7.8",
 "rows": [
  {
   "fact_id": "ltl-nj-deposit-return",
   "label": "Days for the owner or lessee to return the security deposit after the termination of the tenant's lease (46:8-21.1)",
   "value": "30 days",
   "source_value": null,
   "unit": "after the termination of the tenant's lease or licensee's agreement",
   "grain": "state (New Jersey)",
   "period": "statute text in force on the read day, 2026-10-30 (lis.njleg.state.nj.us statutes gateway)",
   "source_name": "New Jersey Statutes 46:8-21.1",
   "url": "https://lis.njleg.state.nj.us/nxt/gateway.dll/statutes/1/44315/44505?f=templates$fn=document-frame.htm$3.0",
   "read_date": "2026-10-30"
  },
  {
   "fact_id": "ltl-nj-displaced",
   "label": "Business days for the owner or lessee to have the deposit available and return it upon his demand after the tenant is displaced (46:8-21.1(a))",
   "value": "five business days",
   "source_value": null,
   "unit": "after the tenant is caused to be displaced by fire, flood, condemnation, or evacuation, with a posted notice or an inspector's certification",
   "grain": "state (New Jersey)",
   "period": "statute text in force on the read day, 2026-10-30 (lis.njleg.state.nj.us statutes gateway)",
   "source_name": "New Jersey Statutes 46:8-21.1",
   "url": "https://lis.njleg.state.nj.us/nxt/gateway.dll/statutes/1/44315/44505?f=templates$fn=document-frame.htm$3.0",
   "read_date": "2026-10-30"
  },
  {
   "fact_id": "ltl-nj-deposit-notice",
   "label": "Days for the person investing the security deposit to notify in writing where it is held (46:8-19(c))",
   "value": "30 days",
   "source_value": null,
   "unit": "of the receipt of the security deposit from the tenant",
   "grain": "state (New Jersey)",
   "period": "statute text in force on the read day, 2026-10-30 (lis.njleg.state.nj.us statutes gateway)",
   "source_name": "New Jersey Statutes 46:8-19",
   "url": "https://lis.njleg.state.nj.us/nxt/gateway.dll/statutes/1/44315/44501?f=templates$fn=document-frame.htm$3.0",
   "read_date": "2026-10-30"
  },
  {
   "fact_id": "ltl-nj-deposit-cap",
   "label": "Security deposit an owner or lessee may not require more than (46:8-21.2)",
   "value": "1 1/2 times 1 month's rental",
   "source_value": null,
   "unit": "as a security for the use or rental of real property used for dwelling purposes",
   "grain": "state (New Jersey)",
   "period": "statute text in force on the read day, 2026-10-30 (lis.njleg.state.nj.us statutes gateway)",
   "source_name": "New Jersey Statutes 46:8-21.2",
   "url": "https://lis.njleg.state.nj.us/nxt/gateway.dll/statutes/1/44315/44506?f=templates$fn=document-frame.htm$3.0",
   "read_date": "2026-10-30"
  },
  {
   "fact_id": "ltl-nj-deposit-add",
   "label": "Additional security an owner or lessee collects annually: not greater than 10 percent of the current deposit (46:8-21.2)",
   "value": "10 percent",
   "source_value": null,
   "unit": "of the current security deposit, collected annually as additional security",
   "grain": "state (New Jersey)",
   "period": "statute text in force on the read day, 2026-10-30 (lis.njleg.state.nj.us statutes gateway)",
   "source_name": "New Jersey Statutes 46:8-21.2",
   "url": "https://lis.njleg.state.nj.us/nxt/gateway.dll/statutes/1/44315/44506?f=templates$fn=document-frame.htm$3.0",
   "read_date": "2026-10-30"
  },
  {
   "fact_id": "ltl-nj-seven-percent",
   "label": "Interest at seven percent per annum the tenant may by written notice apply to rent if the person receiving the deposit fails to invest it, give the notice or pay the interest (46:8-19(c))",
   "value": "seven percent per annum",
   "source_value": null,
   "unit": "interest on the security money, applied on account of rent after the tenant's written notice",
   "grain": "state (New Jersey)",
   "period": "statute text in force on the read day, 2026-10-30 (lis.njleg.state.nj.us statutes gateway)",
   "source_name": "New Jersey Statutes 46:8-19",
   "url": "https://lis.njleg.state.nj.us/nxt/gateway.dll/statutes/1/44315/44501?f=templates$fn=document-frame.htm$3.0",
   "read_date": "2026-10-30"
  },
  {
   "fact_id": "ltl-nj-seasonal",
   "label": "Longest term counted as a seasonal use or rental (46:8-19(d))",
   "value": "125 consecutive days",
   "source_value": null,
   "unit": "term of a seasonal use or rental for residential purposes by a person having a permanent place of residence elsewhere",
   "grain": "state (New Jersey)",
   "period": "statute text in force on the read day, 2026-10-30 (lis.njleg.state.nj.us statutes gateway)",
   "source_name": "New Jersey Statutes 46:8-19",
   "url": "https://lis.njleg.state.nj.us/nxt/gateway.dll/statutes/1/44315/44501?f=templates$fn=document-frame.htm$3.0",
   "read_date": "2026-10-30"
  },
  {
   "fact_id": "ltl-nj-scope",
   "label": "Owner-occupied premises with not more than two rental units: outside the act for rental premises or units used for dwelling purposes unless the tenant gives 30 days written notice (46:8-26)",
   "value": "two rental units",
   "source_value": null,
   "unit": "owner-occupied premises with not more than two rental units, unless the tenant gives 30 days written notice invoking the act",
   "grain": "state (New Jersey)",
   "period": "statute text in force on the read day, 2026-10-30 (lis.njleg.state.nj.us statutes gateway)",
   "source_name": "New Jersey Statutes 46:8-26",
   "url": "https://lis.njleg.state.nj.us/nxt/gateway.dll/statutes/1/44315/44514?f=templates$fn=document-frame.htm$3.0",
   "read_date": "2026-10-30"
  }
 ]
}
