{
 "page": "https://instabids.ai/us/property-managers/landlord-tenant-law/north-carolina",
 "skillVersion": "3.7.8",
 "rows": [
  {
   "fact_id": "ltl-nc-smoke",
   "label": "Days for the landlord to replace or repair smoke alarms after notification in writing by the tenant (42-42(a)(5))",
   "value": "15 days",
   "source_value": null,
   "unit": "days of receipt of notification, if notified in writing by the tenant",
   "grain": "state (North Carolina)",
   "period": "statute text in force on the read day, 2026-10-29",
   "source_name": "North Carolina General Statutes § 42-42",
   "url": "https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_42/GS_42-42.html",
   "read_date": "2026-10-29"
  },
  {
   "fact_id": "ltl-nc-co",
   "label": "Days for the landlord to replace or repair carbon monoxide alarms after notification in writing by the tenant (42-42(a)(7); dwelling units having a fossil-fuel burning heater, appliance, or fireplace, or an attached garage)",
   "value": "15 days",
   "source_value": null,
   "unit": "days of receipt of notification, if notified in writing by the tenant",
   "grain": "state (North Carolina)",
   "period": "statute text in force on the read day, 2026-10-29",
   "source_name": "North Carolina General Statutes § 42-42",
   "url": "https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_42/GS_42-42.html",
   "read_date": "2026-10-29"
  },
  {
   "fact_id": "ltl-nc-heat",
   "label": "Heating line in the imminently dangerous condition list (42-42(a)(8)h.: living areas at 65 degrees Fahrenheit when it is 20 degrees Fahrenheit outside, November 1 through March 31)",
   "value": "65 degrees Fahrenheit",
   "source_value": null,
   "unit": "living areas, when it is 20 degrees Fahrenheit outside, November 1 through March 31",
   "grain": "state (North Carolina)",
   "period": "statute text in force on the read day, 2026-10-29",
   "source_name": "North Carolina General Statutes § 42-42",
   "url": "https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_42/GS_42-42.html",
   "read_date": "2026-10-29"
  },
  {
   "fact_id": "ltl-nc-deposit-cap",
   "label": "Most a security deposit may be (42-51(b)): two weeks' rent week to week, one and one-half months' rent month to month, two months' rent for terms greater than month to month",
   "value": "two months' rent",
   "source_value": null,
   "unit": "for terms greater than month to month (one and one-half months' rent month to month; two weeks' rent week to week)",
   "grain": "state (North Carolina)",
   "period": "statute text in force on the read day, 2026-10-29",
   "source_name": "North Carolina General Statutes § 42-51",
   "url": "https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_42/GS_42-51.html",
   "read_date": "2026-10-29"
  }
 ]
}
